Don’t be a fool……

Proverbs 17:28 & 18:2,13

He who answers before listening – that’s his folly and his shame.

Even a fool is thought wise if he keeps silent, and discerning if he holds his tongue.

A  fool finds no pleasure in understanding but delights in airing his own opinions.

The passages of scriptures are out-of-order to make sense of it the way God wanted me to perceive and hear it.

There was a time I was more interested in voicing my opinion than listening to the entire story.  I couldn’t hold my tongue. I was already upset and replayed in my mind hundreds of scenarios of how when I saw my adversary what I would say, do, how I would stand, and even roll my neck and eyes if needed.  To have full attitude and pressure by the second was not great; so I was unable to listen to reason. I was being a fool and happy about it.  I wanted to be heard, seen, understood, accepted and definitely respected. I said some things I could not take back, but the destruction flowed freely from my tongue. I felt a “take that” with each blow of my voiced opinion. I never took the time to listen even after hearing God say don’t say that, don’t do that, you should listen, be quiet, shhhh, it’s not what it seems, you will regret this, and finally SHUT UP! 

I finally got quiet long enough to allow the full story to be told.  My adversary was quiet and fully attentive with tear filled eyes. After allowing my adversary to speak, I’d realized it was a huge misunderstanding having others involved and complete down spiral from lack of communication. I no longer desired to be seen or heard. I just wanted to crawl into a tiny space and lay in a fetal position away from onlookers, mainly the world.  I needed to hide from self and foolish behavior, but thank God for grace and mercy.  Even in that foolish situation He turned it around for my good. He allowed me to learn the lesson.

I’m sure I’m not the only one who failed to listen to a matter before flying off the deep end.  And even if I am it doesn’t matter; I don’t mind speakingup4me!

Instruction for the day….

Take time to fully listen to a matter before voicing your opinion on the matter; in doing this you display wisdom, not foolishness. Even a fool is thought of  as wise when he keep silent!!! 

Much Love,
Tracy B

Leave a Reply

